The Book of


The Apocrypha books were included in the original King James Version of the bible and many others. At some point in time many printers of the bible decided to not print this section of the bible.

This section called the Biblical apocrypha denotes the collection of ancient books found, in some editions of the Bible, in a separate section between the Old and New Testaments or as an appendix.

The term apocrypha is used to identify a number of ancient religious writing that are found in some editions of the Bible. The Apocryphical books of the Bible fall into two categories: texts which were included in some canonical version of the Bible at some point, and other texts of a Biblical nature which have never been canonical.

The 15 apocrypha books included on this page were included in the original version of the King James Bible and continue to be included in many bibles today.

These books were included in the bible since ancient times and their exclusion is often traced to the Puritian revolution in England. The publishers of the bible excluded the Apocrypha books due to the influence of the British Puritans. The Puritians believed that only the Old and New Testaments were divinely inspired and the actual word of God. How the Lutherans reached the conclusion that the books were not divinely inspired is unclear. However, printing a standard bible that includes only the books agreed upon by all major Christians was a benefit to the publishers.

We can only take people's word for the reasons why certain books were chosen, but we should come to our own conclusions by examining the evidence. It is important to consider how the books of the bible were selected and what might have influenced their selections. A comparison of the accepted books with those rejected may provide insight.

Deuterocanonical Apocrypha

The Deuterocanonical Books of the Bible are books which are included in some version of the canonical Bible, but have been excluded at one time or another based on textual or doctrinal issues from the standard bible.

Which books are considered as part of the Bible or divvine change from time to time. Jerome rejected the Deuterocanonical books when he was translating the Bible because he could not find Hebrew versions.

However, these books were accepted by the Church and most remained part of the Bible. Protestants rejected these books during the Reformation. The Roman Catholic Council of Trent declared the books divine.

Of these books, Tobias, Judith, the Wisdom of Solomon, Baruch, and Maccabees, remain in the Catholic Bible. First Esdras, Second Esdras, Epistle of Jeremiah, Susanna, Bel and the Dragon, Prayer of Manasseh, Prayer of Azariah, and Laodiceans are not today considered part of the Catholic apocrypha.

The following are the 15 Apocrypha books of the King James Bible:

  The First Book of Esdras
  The Second Book of Esdras
  The Greek Additions to Esther
  The First Book of the Maccabees
  The Second Book of the Maccabees
  The Book of Tobit
  The Book of Judith
  The Wisdom of Solomon
  The Book of Sirach (or Ecclesiasticus)
  The Book of Baruch
  The Epistle (or letter) of Jeremiah
  The Book of Susanna (in Daniel)
  The Prayer of Azariah
  The Prayer of Manasseh
  Bel and the Dragon (in Daniel)