World English Bible (web)

Search * Verse of the Day

Random Bible Verses

Bible Stories



The Apocrypha books were included in the original King James Version of the bible and many others. At some point in time many printers of the bible decided to not print this section of the bible.

This section called the Biblical apocrypha denotes the collection of ancient books found, in some editions of the Bible, in a separate section between the Old and New Testaments or as an appendix.

The term apocrypha is used to identify a number of ancient religious writing that are found in some editions of the Bible. The Apocryphical books of the Bible fall into two categories: texts which were included in some canonical version of the Bible at some point, and other texts of a Biblical nature which have never been canonical.

The 15 apocrypha books included on this page were included in the original version of the King James Bible and continue to be included in many bibles today.

These books were included in the bible since ancient times and their exclusion is often traced to the Puritian revolution in England. The publishers of the bible excluded the Apocrypha books due to the influence of the British Puritans. The Puritians believed that only the Old and New Testaments were divinely inspired and the actual word of God. How the Lutherans reached the conclusion that the books were not divinely inspired is unclear. However, printing a standard bible that includes only the books agreed upon by all major Christians was a benefit to the publishers.

We can only take people's word for the reasons why certain books were chosen, but we should come to our own conclusions by examining the evidence. It is important to consider how the books of the bible were selected and what might have influenced their selections. A comparison of the accepted books with those rejected may provide insight.

Deuterocanonical Apocrypha

The Deuterocanonical Books of the Bible are books which are included in some version of the canonical Bible, but have been excluded at one time or another based on textual or doctrinal issues from the standard bible.

Which books are considered as part of the Bible or divvine change from time to time. Jerome rejected the Deuterocanonical books when he was translating the Bible because he could not find Hebrew versions.

However, these books were accepted by the Church and most remained part of the Bible. Protestants rejected these books during the Reformation. The Roman Catholic Council of Trent declared the books divine.

Of these books, Tobias, Judith, the Wisdom of Solomon, Baruch, and Maccabees, remain in the Catholic Bible. First Esdras, Second Esdras, Epistle of Jeremiah, Susanna, Bel and the Dragon, Prayer of Manasseh, Prayer of Azariah, and Laodiceans are not today considered part of the Catholic apocrypha.

The following are the 15 Apocrypha books of the King James Bible:

  The First Book of Esdras
  The Second Book of Esdras
  The Greek Additions to Esther
  The First Book of the Maccabees
  The Second Book of the Maccabees
  The Book of Tobit
  The Book of Judith
  The Wisdom of Solomon
  The Book of Sirach (or Ecclesiasticus)
  The Book of Baruch
  The Epistle (or letter) of Jeremiah
  The Book of Susanna (in Daniel)
  The Prayer of Azariah
  The Prayer of Manasseh
  Bel and the Dragon (in Daniel)

Bible Verses About Love


Let us love one another, for love comes from God and every one who loves is a child of God and knows God. He who loves not man does not know God, for God is love. God showed his love for us, for he sent his only Son into the world that through him we might have life. Love ye therefore the stranger.

Bible Verses of the Day


Daily Bible study is essential. The Bible Verse of the Day provides a collection of enlightening and inspiration bible verses. Improve your knowledge and understanding of the Bible and your life by studying the words of the holy scripture. Explore the King James Bible (kjv) and discover new insights.

The Imitation of Christ


He that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, saith the Lord. These are the words of Christ; and they direct us to imitate his life and character. The Imitation of Christ is guide to following the example of Jesus Christ. Let it be our most earnest study to dwell upon the life and example of Jesus.



The Apocrypha books are 14 books that were included between the old and new testaments in the original King James Version of the bible and many others. Church leaders agreed that these books were valuable for instruction in life and manners, but did not all agree that they should be considered cannon.

The Complete Sayings of Jesus


This is the King James Bible version of Christ's own words. This collection organizes and presents every word spoken by Jesus in one place and provides an index to assist in finding specific ocassions, places and/or events. The Complete Sayings of Jesus is a must read aid for serious Bible study.

World English Bible

bible genesis

The World English Bible was produced to provide speakers of modern English with a version of the Bible that is easily understood. The Bible is in the public domain and available world-wide. It is an accurate modern translation of the content of original King James Bible, including the Apocryphal books.

The Gospel of The Birth of Mary was attributed to St. Matthew and was received as genuine and authentic by early Christians. It is to be found in the works of Jerome, a Father of the Church in the 4th century and is translated from his collection.

The Book of Enoch is ascribed to the great-grandfather of Noah and is included in the cannon of some churches. It describes the fall of the angels (watchers), visions of heaven and hell and the birth of Noah. Quotes from the book of Enoch are found in the New Testament.

Looking for something in the Bible? Want to find a specifc verse or list of words? The Bible search feature makes it easy find verses or words. Enter the verses or words in the search bar or visit the search page to access additional search options. Finding information in the Bible will never be easier.

The Childrens Bible provides bible lessons from the Old and New testaments. There are 216 stories written in plain english. The stories are easy to read and understand but they are not just for childern. It is a pleasure to read and enjoy these important stories.

The First Book of Adam and Eve. Books 1 begins immediately after the expulsion from the Garden of Eden. We learn about the fall but also of the promise to save Adam and his decendents. The story depicts mans struggle against evil, the devil and sin.

The Second Book of Adam and Eve. Discusses Adam's sorrow and death. The history of the patriarchs who lived before the Flood until the birth of Noah; the children of Seth on Mount Hermon and Cain's death. It ends with the testament and translation of Enoch.

The favorite verses page is a list of popular bible verses. Each verse includes a link to the chapter and verse of the book where it is found in the bible. Click on any link for a bible verse and it will take you to that location in the bible.

The bible contains great stories. Visit the bible stories page for links to some of the best known and most significant stories and passages in the bible.